Working with GA DJJ

As y’all may know from my previous blogs, I worked with Georgia DJJ (Department of Juvenile Justice) as a probation officer. I haven’t gone into detail on what my job duties actually were. I feel that if anyone out there decides to work with them, then they should review someone’s personal experience and advice.

First off I am going to give y’all a little bit of background information about what my position was. I was a Probation Officer/HITS Officer. Basically HITS (High Intensive Team Supervision) is a type of probation officer that supervises high risk youth including designated felons. In the world of Georgia DJJ, there are two types of probation officers. The 2nd type is known as a JPPS I, II, or III or in other words, Juvenile Probation/Parole Specialist. DJJ uses acronyms for everything, I swear.

A JPPS is responsible for the low and medium risk youth that do not require a lot of supervision. For example, they supervise kids that are suspended from school for fighting or kids that are arrested for misdemeanors. They have to see their kids about 3 times a month.

I’m the 3rd girl in the middle

A HITS officer is a sworn “law enforcement” officer. I use the term “law enforcement” very loosely in this case. I went to POST training in Forsyth, Ga for 8 weeks in order to be a certified HITS officer. I had the power to arrest people but DJJ would not allow us to use our arrest power. So really it defeated the purpose of even having it. I carried a weapon, wore a “bullet-resistant” vest, carried OC pepper spray, and handcuffs. I had to see my kids 2-3 times a week and they had to call me 2-3 times a week. I had to conduct curfew checks, face-to-face and phone calls. I had to go to a lot of trainings and meetings. I had to schedule the kids for mental health treatments. I had to give the kids drug tests.

It was a lot. I had a love/hate relationship with my job. I loved it because I was helping the kids realize that they need to do better with their lives and change. I also loved the money. Even though the pay was not $50k a year, I was still making enough to provide for Nya and I and live comfortably making $40k a year.

I hated it because they treated me like I was a baby. They did not want to give me the same amount of work that everyone else had because they thought that since I was only 23 and a female, that I would not be able to handle it all on my own. I also had a so called partner who was a 60 year old man but acted like he was 16 and gossiped around the office like he was a little bitch.

But anyway, that’s my little rant about DJJ. If you want to know more, please let me know!

Much love,

Sequoia ❤️


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s